NJ Unsatisfied Claim and Judgment Fund
In New Jersey, if you are a pedestrian injured by a car that was uninsured or by a hit-and-run driver and you do not own a car or live with a family member that owns a car you may be able to file a claim with the Unsatisfied Claim and Judgment Fund (UCJF) to recover medical expenses and damages for pain and suffering. Claim forms are provided on their website.
In addition, if you are injured in a car accident involving an uninsured automobile, you may also qualify to bring a claim for uninsured motorist benefits through the Fund. A Notice of Intention to make a claim must be filed within 180 days of the accident.
UCJF provides the following information:
Filing a Claim with the Unsatisfied Claim and Judgment Fund (“UCJF”)
Pedestrian Personal Injury Protection (“PIP”) Claims
Pedestrians injured in an accident with a private passenger automobile or commercial motor vehicle, with no other available coverage, may be entitled to PIP benefits pursuant to the Unsatisfied Claim and Judgment Fund Law, N.J.S.A. 39:6-60 et seq. Notice of the claim must be given within 180 days of the injury. A Notice of Intention to Make a Claim (“NOI”) form can be downloaded from the Forms library.
Uninsured Motorist (“UM”) Claims
Individuals injured in a motor vehicle accident involving an uninsured vehicle may be entitled to UM benefits if no other coverage is available. The UM claims’ process begins with the filing of a Notice of Intention to Make a Claim (“NOI”) within 180 days as required by N.J.S.A. 39:6-65. All statutory requirements of the Unsatisfied Claim and Judgment Fund Law, N.J.S.A. 39:6-61 et seq. must also be satisfied. An NOI form can be downloaded from the Forms Library.
UCJF Eligibility Requirements:You are not eligible to collect from the UCJF if any of the following are true:
- You fail to notify us of your intention to make a claim within 180 days of the date of accident. N.J.S.A. 39:6-65.
- The injuries or death are covered by workers’ compensation. N.J.S.A. 39:6-70.
- You are the spouse, parent or child of the judgment debtor (person against whom the claim is made). N.J.S.A. 39:6-70.
- At the time of accident, you were operating or riding in a motor vehicle which you had stolen or helped to steal or were operating or riding in a motor vehicle without the owner’s permission. N.J.S.A. 39:6-70.
- You were the owner or registrant of an uninsured vehicle. N.J.S.A. 39:6-70.
- The judgment debtor was insured at the time of accident and the insurance company is liable to pay part or all of the judgment. N.J.S.A. 39:6-70.
- The claim is covered by uninsured motorist coverage, collision insurance, extended fire or other insurance. N.J.S.A. 17:28-1.1.
- The damage to your vehicle or property is covered by an insurance policy. N.J.S.A. 39:6-70.
- Your claim is for property damage of $500 or less. N.J.S.A. 39:6-73.
- The claim is for property damage caused by a hit and run motor vehicle. N.J.S.A. 39:6-78.
- You were operating a motor vehicle in violation of an order of suspension or revocation. N.J.S.A. 39:6-70.
- The accident occurred outside the State of New Jersey. N.J.S.A. 39:6-65.
If you or a loved one is injured in an car accident or are a pedestrian that was hit by a car, it is important to protect your rights and speak to a personal injury lawyer as soon as possible.